Meet Stef, Advanced Electrical Project Engineer at AKKA Belgium!

NewsMarch 23 2021

Share this article

Tell me about your background and culture, where you took off and how it evolved.

I studied Industrial electrical engineering at the University of Leuven. After 4 years I could finally apply for jobs that I liked! When I had my first contact with AKKA, I was already sure that I wanted to work here. They told me that I could have the chance to work on projects around the world and that I could evolve from junior project engineer to project manager; so I started working for AKKA in September 2017.

After three years, I still don’t regret this decision! AKKA is helping me to achieve my goals, so I get the chance to walk in my father’s footsteps and become a global project manager.

 

What is the greatest challenge you’ve overcome in your professional/ academic career?

The greatest challenge I have overcome so far was during my academic career. I had a bad first year in university and a few people told me that it was better to quit and do something else. If I didn’t quit, I could maybe finish my degree in five years instead of four. But I was determined to get my degree in four years, just as planned. So, I worked hard the next couple of years and in my final year, I had to make a difficult decision. Am I doing my thesis and courses and have a very trying last year but reach my goal or am I doing it next year after I finish my courses… If you want something you need to do everything you can to achieve your goal, so I worked hard and got my diploma for 4 years.

 

What interested you in AKKA?

I am a family man so it was especially important for me that you can talk to everybody in a company from the CEO to your colleagues without the fear of asking or saying something wrong. This is the way they work, which is quite special in a company of its size.

The opportunities AKKA provides to develop your skills and or to do projects all over the world are amazing.

 

Tell me your hobbies/interests.

My biggest passion is soccer. I play soccer and I also am a trainer for kids of 9 years old. Five days of the week I am doing something that has to do with soccer. My girlfriend (soon-to-be wife) sometimes says that I will turn into a soccer ball if I don’t stop talking about it. My other passion is music, I sometimes DJ at weddings or birthday parties. I even had the chance to play at the annual party of AKKA. That was so nice, and I will remember this for a long time.

 

Tell me about the greatest thing you’ve learned from a colleague/ mentor.

I didn’t really have a mentor in my academic career and I always live by the principle that you can learn every day and from everyone. You always need a team and teamwork to achieve the goals you want to achieve. My grandmother always said to me that if you want something in life, you need to work for it. This quote is my motivation for my AKKA projects.